The chorus was created in 1989, when the Cross-raising temple had been inaugurated which now is a cathedral of Russian Orthodox Church.

The chorus performs sacred music during Saturday, Sunday and celebration services. It takes active part in religious, public and culture activities of the city and Kaliningrad region: days of Slavonic character, sanctifications of opening orthodox temples, in TV shows dedicated to Orthodox celebrations, in various festivals and concerts taking part in the frame of cultural exchange between different regions.

The professional musicians graduated in different times from high music schools of Russia work in the chorus.

The regent – Sinichenkova Eugeniya (Saint-Petersburg university of culture and art) manages the chorus from 1991. Being an active and creative person, she schedules repertoire with a particular trepidation and care to the music heritage. In the effort to enrich traditional colloquial singing she as well includes modern sacred music with a true taste. Many thing from the Kaliningrad chorus repertoire was performed for the fist time.

Apart from its main activity the chorus aims for the research, record and propaganda of different layers of Orthodox music culture (excluding ancient ones).

An important milestone of the chorus’s work has been a record (4 CDs) of the collection Russian Orthodox Church songs. It includes constantly performed in the Cathedral colloquial songs and songs of divine service celebration – Christmas, Lent, Easter. Soon, the record of “Liturgy of St.Ioann Zlatoust” of Konstantin Shvedov will be made. This project has been fulfilled according to the consecration of mitropolitan Kirill in order to reflect the many-sided culture of modern parish singing and in future to be the model for regents and church chorus.

The chorus of the Cross-raising Cathedral of Kaliningrad city takes part in many European festivals and competitions and generally is more famous on the West than in Russia itself because of Kaliningrad region specific location.

История создания хора начинается в 1989 году, когда в Калининграде был открыт Крестовоздвиженский собор, являющийся до 2006 года кафедральным собором Русской Православной Церкви.

Хор исполняет духовную музыку во время субботних, воскресных и праздничных служб. Принимает активное участие в религиозных, общественных и культурных мероприятиях города и области: Днях славянской письменности и культуры, освящении открывающихся в области православных храмов, в телевизионных программах, посвященных православным праздникам, в различных фестивалях и концертах, проходящих в рамках культурного обмена с различными регионами..

Хор собора составляют профессиональные музыканты, окончившие в разное время высшие и средние музыкальные учебные заведения России.

Регент хора — Евгения Синиченкова (Санкт-Петербургский университет культуры и искусства) руководит хором с 1991 года. Являясь активным и творческим человеком, она с особым трепетом и осторожностью относится к наследию композиторов прошлого при подборе репертуара. Стремясь обогатить традиционное обиходное пение, Евгения Синиченкова с неизменным вкусом включает в работу современную духовную музыку. Многое из репертуара хора в Калининграде исполнялось впервые.

Кроме основной нагрузки хор ставит для себя задачи исследования, записи и пропаганды различных пластов православной музыкальной культуры (исключая древние).

Хором был выпущен диск с записью  «Литургии св. Иоанна Златоуста» Константина Шведова (1913 г.). 

Хор ведет активную концертную деятельность. В 2007 г. хор был приглашен  дирекцией Московского Пасхального Фестиваля для участия в концерте-открытии хоровой программы фестиваля.

Серьезной вехой в творчестве коллектива (2011 г.) явилась запись (4 CD диска) собрания песнопений Русской Православной Церкви. В него вошли обычно и постоянно исполняемые в храме песнопения обихода и праздничного круга Богослужения — «Рождество Христово», «Великий Пост», «Пасха». Данный проект был осуществлен по благословению патриарха Всея Руси Кирилла с целью отразить многостороннюю культуру современного приходского пения и в дальнейшем служить образцом для регентов и церковных коллективов.

Хор Крестовоздвиженского собора сотрудничает с ведущими музыкантами, музыкальными коллективами России и  зарубежных стран.

Ввиду особого географического положения Калининградской области хор Крестовоздвиженского собора более известен на западе, чем в России и является участником многих Европейских конкурсов и фестивалей.