The Cross-raising cathedral of Russian Orthodox Church is situated on the island in the Moskovsky district of Kaliningrad city in the building of former evangelical church – Kroyts-kirche.

The church had been designed by the Berlin architect Arthur Kikton before The First world war. It was founded in 1930 and sanctified on May, 7-th of 1933. The Kroyts-kirche turned out to be the last church built in Kenigsberg and meant as a parish church projected especially for the district located on the east from Vaydendamm and Lindenshtrasse streets.

The facade of the building resembles the form of Greek cross. The church cannot be reckoned among any styles from architectural point of view: its towers are similar to eastern minarets. Two rows of columns divide the internal space of the church into tree naves. The apartment building for the clergy adjoins the eastern part of the church.

The building did not suffer from the war almost at all but started disintegrating in the peaceful time. An auto repairing workshop had been arranged here just after the war which was then replaced by the fishing net factory. A singe body of the temple was divided into several floors, a number of concrete columns appeared in the center. The form of the roof was modified. Heavy manufacturing equipment was installed on the upper floors that caused overloading of the building’s basement and, consequently, wall cracks.

In the September of 1989 the kircher was transferred to the Kaliningrad-Smolensk diocese of Russian Orthodox Church. The building of the church was fully cleared in 1990 and in 1991 the parish was registered.

During the years 1991-1994 the reconstruction and full restoration of the temple had been conducted. The community temporary carried out the divine service in the former kircher building (now it’s the Protection of the Saint Blessed Virgin parish). The building acquired its two-floor appearance.

On the 16 of January of 1994 the cathedral’s upper temple was sanctified by mitropolitan Kirill of Smolensk and Kaliningrad in honor of God’s Cross Raising.

In the 1995 the cathedral’s lower temple consecration was conducted by mitropolitan Kirill of Smolensk and Kaliningrad in honor of Holy Trinity Alexander Nevski.

Крестовоздвиженский кафедральный собор Русской Православной Церкви находится на острове Московского района города Калининграда в здании бывшей евангелистской церкви — Кройц-кирхе.

Проект кирхи возник еще до Первой мировой войны. Она была заложена в 1930, а освящена 7 мая 1933 года. Кройц-кирха оказалась последней построенной кирхой в Кенигсберге и строилась в качестве приходской церкви специально для района, находящегося восточнее улиц Вайдендамм и Линденштрассе. Архитектором постройки является берлинский архитектор Артур Киктон.

Внешний вид фасада собора напоминает форму греческого креста. С точки зрения архитектуры церковь не поддается классификации: башни церкви отдаленно напоминают восточные минареты. Два ряда колонн делили внутреннее пространство кирхи на три нефа. С восточной части к кирхе примыкает жилое здание для духовенства.

В годы войны здание практически не пострадало, однако разрушение началось в мирное время. Сразу после войны здесь разместилась автомобильная мастерская, а позже — фабрика орудий лова. Единое тело храма расчленили междуэтажные перекрытия, по центру появился ряд бетонных колонн. Внутри образовались третий и четвертый этаж, изменилась форма кровли. На межэтажных перекрытиях было установлено тяжелое фабричное оборудование. Все это вызвало перегрузку фундамента, деформации и, как следствие, — трещины стен.

В сентябре 1989 года кирха была передана Калининградско-Смоленской Епархии Русской Православной Церкви. В 1990 году здание кирхи полностью освободили, и в 1991 году зарегистрировали приход.

В период 1991-1994 гг. была произведена полная реставрация и реконструкция здания храма. В этот период община временно проводит богослужения в здании бывшей кирхи (ныне приход Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы). Храмовое здание приобретает двухуровневый вид.

16 января 1994 года собор был освящен митрополитом Смоленским и Калининградским Кириллом верхнего храма в честь Воздвижения Креста Господня.

В 1995 году состоялось освящение собора митрополитом Смоленским и Калининградским Кириллом нижнего храма в честь святого благоверного князя Александра Невского.